Tickets & Events

Gustavo Gimeno conducts Ligeti, Dvořák and Schumann featuring violinist Hilary Hahn

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Spanish conductor Gustavo Gimeno and American violinist Hilary Hahn join forces for Dvořák's Violin Concerto, composed in 1879 for the great Joseph Joachim. At times lyrical, Dvořák's concerto also contains passages of great energy based on music from his Czech heritage, especially in the delightful, dance-like finale. Also based on music from Central Europe, György Ligeti's early "Romanian Concerto" is a Bartók influenced orchestral work from early in the great Hungarian composer's career. Robert Schumann's First Symphony is bursting with energy, power, and optimism.

Featured Performers

Gustavo   Gimeno, conductor Gustavo Gimeno, conductor Hilary   Hahn, violin Hilary Hahn, violin
Program Notes Audio
LIGETI - Concert Românesc (13 min)
DVOŘÁK - Violin Concerto (34 min)
SCHUMANN - Symphony No. 1, Spring (33 min)
Audio Concert Preview - Full Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!