Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Beethoven and Bruckner featuring pianist Rudolf Buchbinder

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons and eminent Austrian pianist Rudolf Buchbinder pair up for Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 1, a robustly elegant work with which Beethoven made his name as a composer-performer of extraordinary abilities and personality in mid-1790s Vienna. Anton Bruckner wrote his warm, majestic Fourth Symphony in 1874, but as with many of his works he subjected it to extensive revision. Though the 1881 premiere of the second version under Hans Richter in Vienna brought one of the composer's greatest successes, a third version of the score dates from 1888.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Rudolf   Buchbinder, piano Rudolf Buchbinder, piano
Program Notes Audio
BEETHOVEN - Piano Concerto No. 1 (37 min)
BRUCKNER - Symphony No. 4, Romantic (65 min)
Audio Concert Preview - Full Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!