Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Bermel, Prokofiev and Strauss featuring violinist Leonidas Kavakos

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Greek-born violinist Leonidas Kavakos returns to Symphony Hall as soloist in Sergei Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 2. Composed in the mid-1930s, the concerto is by turns beautifully lyrical and scintillatingly virtuosic, with a Spanish-flavored finale as a nod to Madrid, where the work was premiered in 1935. Opening these concerts is American composer Derek Bermel's "spectral love potion" Elixir, which combines colorfully tranquil music for strings with exuberant, Messiaen-like exclamations from wind instruments deployed throughout the auditorium. Completing the program is Richard Strauss's cinematic tone poem An Alpine Symphony, illustrating an excursion up, then down (at a faster pace!) a mountain, with a huge range of instrumental and compositional effects.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Leonidas   Kavakos, violin Leonidas Kavakos, violin
Program Notes Audio
Derek BERMEL - Elixir(8 min)
PROKOFIEV - Violin Concerto No. 2 (27 min)
STRAUSS - An Alpine Symphony (48 min)
Concert Preview - Full Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!