Tickets & Events

Tugan Sokhiev conducts Britten, Chopin and Mendelssohn featuring pianist Jan Lisiecki

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Russian-Ossetian conductor Tugan Sokhiev and Canadian pianist Jan Lisiecki both make their BSO debuts in these concerts, working together in Frédéric Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 1. Already acclaimed as a prodigy, Chopin was just twenty when he wrote and premiered this concerto in 1830. The piece blends Classical concerto form with the composer's entirely individual piano writing and lyrical Romanticism. Felix Mendelssohn began his Symphony No. 4 also in 1830 during an extended stay in Italy. The predominantly cheerful opening movement reflects his pleasure in the Mediterranean environs. Opening the program is Benjamin Britten's Simple Symphony, an utterly charming string-orchestra work created from fragments of his youthful compositions.

Featured Performers

Tugan   Sokhiev, conductor Tugan Sokhiev, conductor Jan   Lisiecki, piano Jan Lisiecki, piano
Program Notes Audio
BRITTEN - Simple Symphony (18 min)
CHOPIN - Piano Concerto No. 1 (35 min)
MENDELSSOHN - Symphony No. 4, Italian (38 min)
Full Program Notes - Audio Concert Preview
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!