Tickets & Events

Tugan Sokhiev conducts Brahms and Prokofiev featuring violinist Vadim Gluzman

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

For his second week of concerts this season, Tugan Sokhiev leads the BSO in Brahms's towering Violin Concerto, with the outstanding, Ukrainian-born, Israeli violin soloist Vadim Gluzman in his BSO winter season debut. Brahms wrote his concerto in 1878 for his lifelong friend Joseph Joachim. Closing the program is Prokofiev's wartime Symphony No. 5, a powerful, searching, and expansive work premiered in January 1945 with the composer conducting.

Featured Performers

Tugan   Sokhiev, conductor Tugan Sokhiev, conductor Vadim   Gluzman, violin Vadim Gluzman, violin
Program Notes Audio
BRAHMS - Violin Concerto (43 min)
PROKOFIEV - Symphony No. 5 (45 min)
Full Program Notes - Audio Concert Preview
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!