Tickets & Events

BSO Family Concert Series
Boston Symphony Orchestra
"Learning By Heart: A Journey of Exploration and Engagement"

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

The theme for this year's concerts is "Learning by Heart" - A Journey of Exploration and Engagement. The program will include Berlioz's Roman Carnival Overture, Chabrier's Marche Joyeuse, "Death of Tybalt" from Prokofiev's ballet Romeo and Juliet, Intermezzo from Bizet's Carmen, John Adams's Short Ride in a Fast Machine, the fourth movement (Aspiration) from Still's Symphony No. 1, and the fourth movement (Allegro ma non troppo) from Dvorák's Symphony No. 8. 

Seventeen-year-old pianist Amir Siraj, a freshman at Harvard University, was the winner of the 2017 BSO Concerto Competition, and will join Mr. Wilkins and the BSO for a performance of the first movement (Allegro maestoso) from Liszt's Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-flat at the two Family Concerts to take place on Saturday, March 10, at 10 a.m. and 12 noon. These concerts will also include Dance of the Clowns from Mendelssohn's incidental music to A Midsummer Night's Dream, and are especially designed for children ages 3-8 and their families.

Featured Performers

Thomas   Wilkins, conductor Thomas Wilkins, conductor Amir   Siraj, piano Amir Siraj, piano