Tickets & Events

Emerson String Quartet


Seiji Ozawa Hall - Lenox, MA - View Map

The world-renowned Emerson String Quartet returns to Tanglewood for performances of all five of Beethoven's immortal late string quartets, performed over two concerts. Tonight, the Emerson Quartet performs the remaining two pieces in the group, the String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat, Op. 130, and the String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132, as well as the Grosse Fuge   in B-flat, Op. 133, a massive single-movement fugue originally intended to be the finale of the Op. 130 Quartet. 

These are works that Leonard Bernstein was fascinated with throughout his musical life as exemplars of musical art.

Featured Performers

Emerson String  Quartet, Emerson String Quartet
Program Notes Audio
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet No. 12 in E-flat, Op. 127 (40 min)
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet No. 16 in F, Op. 135 (25 min)
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 131 (40 min)