Tickets & Events

Michael Tilson Thomas conducts Tilson Thomas, Rachmaninoff and Mahler


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

San Francisco Symphony Music Director and former BSO Assistant Conductor Michael Tilson Thomas returns to Tanglewood, where he won the Koussevitzky Music Prize as a student of Bernstein's in 1969. To open the program, he leads the BSO in his own Agnegram, a 1998 work that is alternately jazzy, elegant, humorous, and direct. Brilliant young Russian pianist Igor Levit then takes center stage for Rachmaninoff's virtuosic and glittering Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. Closing the concert is Mahler's at times brooding, at times vigorously energetic Symphony No. 1. Bernstein's championing of Mahler's symphonies was a big factor in making his music a staple of the orchestral repertoire.

Featured Performers

Michael Tilson   Thomas, conductor Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor Igor   Levit, piano Igor Levit, piano
Program Notes Audio
Michael TILSON THOMAS - Agnegram (4 min)
RACHMANINOFF - Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (24 min)
MAHLER - Symphony No. 1 (58 min)