Tickets & Events

Moritz Gnann conducts Wagner, Mozart and Schumann


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

Acclaimed English pianist Paul Lewis, who has given several memorable performances with the BSO in recent seasons, joins the orchestra for Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 27 in B-flat, K.595, the composer's final work in the genre. BSO Assistant Conductor Moritz Gnann, who conducts the performance, also leads the orchestra in Wagner's Siegfried Idyll and Schumann's Symphony No. 3, Rhenish. The symphony's subtitle refers to the mighty Rhine, the river that has inspired so many great works throughout music history, and the piece contains some of Schumann's most colorful and exuberant music, as well as some of his most accomplished writing for full orchestra.

Featured Performers

Moritz   Gnann, conductor Moritz Gnann, conductor Paul   Lewis, piano Paul Lewis, piano
Program Notes Audio
WAGNER - Siegfried Idyll (18 min)
MOZART - Piano Concerto No. 27 in B-flat, K.595 (32 min)
SCHUMANN - Symphony No. 3, Rhenish (33 min)
Full Program Notes - -
Listen/Watch Related Media

There is related media for this performance available. Listen to audio podcasts and more in the BSO Media Center!