Tickets & Events

Gil Shaham plays Prokofiev


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

Juanjo Mena returns for a second BSO performance to conduct works by Haydn and Mozart, as well as Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 1, with American virtuoso and frequent Tanglewood guest artist Gil Shaham as soloist. The concert begins with Haydn's Symphony No. 88, one of the composer's best-known works in the genre and a favorite of Bernstein's (including a Tanglewood performance in 1988), and completing the program is Mozart's dramatic Symphony No. 40 in G minor, one of Mozart's final trio of symphonies and one of only two that he wrote in a minor key.

Featured Performers

Juanjo   Mena, conductor Juanjo Mena, conductor Gil   Shaham, violin Gil Shaham, violin
Program Notes Audio
HAYDN - Symphony No. 88 (23 min)
PROKOFIEV - Violin Concerto No. 1 (23 min)
MOZART - Symphony No. 40 (29 min)
Listen/Watch Related Media

There is related media for this performance available. Listen to audio podcasts and more in the BSO Media Center!