Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Schumann and Bruckner featuring pianist Yuja Wang

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Andris Nelsons and the BSO are joined by the firebrand Chinese pianist Yuja Wang for Schumann's Piano Concerto, a work blending the composer's unique Romantic lyricism and brilliance. The concerto began as a single-movement Fantasia written for his wife Clara, who was considered one of the great virtuosos of the age. Bruckner's magisterial Symphony No. 9, a work left just short of completion at the composer's death in 1896, shows the continuing influence of Wagner in its harmonic language and scope, with the particular Austrian grace and gift for counterpoint for which Bruckner was known.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Yuja   Wang, piano Yuja Wang, piano
Program Notes Audio
SCHUMANN - Piano Concerto (30 min)
BRUCKNER - Symphony No. 9