Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Adolphe, Haydn, and Shostakovich with Thomas Rolfs, trumpet and Yuja Wang, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Dynamic Chinese pianist Yuja Wang plays not one but both of Dmitri Shostakovich’s piano concertos, written 24 years apart, part of the BSO and Andris Nelsons’ multi-season exploration of the composer’s major works with orchestra. The concert closes with Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 100, whose nickname comes from the surprising appearance of percussion in the slow movement. The American composer Julia Adolphe, who has earned praised for the sonic and narrative inventiveness of her music, says of her new work, “Makeshift Castle captures contrasting states of permanence and ephemerality, of perseverance and disintegration, of determination and surrender.”

Performance Details

Sep 29, 2022, 7:30pm EDT

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit