Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Saint-Saëns and Strauss with Blaise Déjardin, cello

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

The BSO’s own principal cello Blaise Déjardin makes his solo concerto debut with the orchestra in these concerts performing the astonishingly gifted French composer Camille Saint-Saëns’ 1873 Cello Concerto No. 1. In one movement, this compact concerto moves from exhilarating energy to great charm and finally to impassioned, virtuosic lyricism.
The orchestral interludes from his 1924 opera Intermezzo are self-contained miniature tone poems of great dramatic effectiveness. The gorgeous “Dreaming by the Fireside” depicts a woman’s yearning for her husband, who is a musician on tour—part of the autobiographical plot of the opera. Strauss’s absolute mastery of the orchestra is put to very different use in the tone poem An Alpine Symphony, which musically illustrates nature in all its glory via the climb and descent of a mountain in the Alps.

Regrettably, soprano Marlis Petersen has had to withdraw from her upcoming appearances with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, April 28, 29, and 30, at Symphony Hall, due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. In lieu of the works by Richard Strauss Ms. Petersen was to perform, these concerts will feature BSO Principal Cello Blaise Déjardin performing Saint-Saëns’ Concerto for Cello No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33.

Performance Details

Apr 28, 2022, 8:00pm EDT

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit