Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Beethoven and Shostakovich with Mitsuko Uchida, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Japanese pianist Mitsuko Uchida joins Andris Nelsons and the BSO for the first concert of a multi-year collaboration in Ludwig van Beethoven’s five piano concertos, beginning with his monumental Emperor. Criticism in the Soviet press of Dmitri Shostakovich’s opera Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District put him in a precarious position with Soviet authorities. His response was the powerful and outwardly triumphant Fifth Symphony.

Black and white photo of Mitsuko Uchida

Getting Here

Plan Your Visit