Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Casual Friday: Hannu Lintu conducts Berg and Schumann with Leonidas Kavakos, violin

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Leonidas Kavakos, violin

BERG Violin Concerto
SCHUMANN Symphony No. 4

Tanglewood Festival Chorus
 James Burton, conductor

Roxanna PANUFNIK Love Endureth
BYRD Ave Verum Corpus
Roderick WILLIAMS Ave Verum Corpus re-imagined
THOMPSON The Peaceable Kingdom

Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu leads the BSO and frequent guest Leonidas Kavakos in Alban Berg’s final finished piece; quoting poignantly from Bach, this haunting 1935 Violin Concerto was written in response to the death of a friend’s daughter. In closing, Robert Schumann’s majestic Symphony No. 4, which draws inspiration from Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony in its use of recurring musical themes to tie together the work’s four movements.

Please allow additional arrival and entry time before your concert due to MBTA construction at the Symphony Green Line station. Parts of the sidewalk in front of Symphony Hall will be closed Mon-Fri 9:30am–3:30pm until further notice, however sidewalks will reopen two hours before BSO events

Performance Details

Nov 10, 2023, 8:00pm EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit