Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Xian Zhang conducts Chen, Schumann, and Mozart with Jonathan Biss, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Xian Zhang, conductor
Jonathan Biss, piano

CHEN Yi Landscape Impression
SCHUMANN Piano Concerto
MOZART Symphony No. 39

Xian Zhang makes her Symphony Hall debut leading a work she premiered with the New Jersey Symphony in June 2023, Pulitzer Prize-winning Chinese-born composer Chen Yi’s Landscape Impression. American pianist Jonathan Biss is the soloist in Robert Schumann’s lyrical and powerful Piano Concerto. Schumann wrote the piece at the urging of his wife Clara, one of the great pianists of the age. Mozart’s elegant Symphony No. 39 was the first of his final trilogy of symphonies, written at lightning speed in summer 1788.

Performance Details

Oct 19, 2024, 8:00pm EDT

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit