Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts HK Gruber, Mozart, and Prokofiev featuring Hilary Hahn, violin

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Andris Nelsons leads a world premiere originally scheduled for spring 2020, the Viennese composer HK Gruber’s Short Stories from the Vienna Woods, a BSO co-commission with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. This orchestral score is a suite of music from the composer’s opera Tales from the Vienna Wood, based on the socially critical play by the same name by Ödön von Horváth. The title’s reference to the famous Strauss waltz mirrors the wide- ranging popular and classical variety of Gruber’s music.
Though he would later be the embodiment of the Viennese Classical composer, Wolfgang Mozart was still living in Salzburg when he wrote all five of his violin concertos. Beloved American violinist Hilary Hahn plays Mozart’s Concerto No. 5, from 1775, which in addition to its energy and elegance is notable for its unusual finale, which features the surprising “Turkish” episode that gives the concerto its nickname.
The BSO under Serge Koussevitzky gave the American premiere of Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5 in 1945. Written in 1944, the symphony looks beyond the turmoil of World War II to celebrate the nobility of the human spirit.

Hillary Hahn holds her violin against a blue background

Performance Details

Jan 7, 2022, 1:30pm EST

Symphony Hall

  • Keeping You Safe in Sound at Symphony Hall

    Please note that all visitors to Symphony Hall must present either proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test to enter, and CDC-approved masks are required while in the hall. A negative COVID-19 test must either be a PCR test taken within the last 72 hours or an antigen test taken within the last 24 hours. Be sure to read about all our new health and safety protocols before attending. We look forward to sharing this special celebration with you. Welcome back!

Getting Here

Plan Your Visit