Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Kendall, Lee, and Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 with Paul Lewis, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Paul Lewis, piano
Thomas Warfield, narrator

Hannah KENDALL The Spark Catchers
James LEE III Freedom’s Genuine Dawn, for narrator and orchestra (Co-commissioned by the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Andris Nelsons, Music Director, through the generous support of the New Works Fund established by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency.)
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor

English pianist Paul Lewis takes us on a musical and stylistic adventure through all five of Beethoven’s piano concertos over three concerts. These performances are paired with two poetic journeys: Hannah Kendall’s The Spark Catchers, inspired by imagery from Lemn Sissay’s poem by the same name; and James Lee III’s Freedom’s Genuine Dawn, a BSO co-commission set with texts by the seminal 19th-century African American orator and activist Frederick Douglass.

Please allow additional arrival and entry time before your concert due to MBTA construction at the Symphony Green Line station. Parts of the sidewalk in front of Symphony Hall will be closed Mon-Fri 9:30am–3:30pm until further notice, however sidewalks will reopen two hours before BSO events

Paul Lewis sitting with his head resting in his left hand

Performance Details

Oct 21, 2023, 8:00pm EDT

Complete Beethoven Piano Concertos +

Experience a musical and stylistic journey as English pianist Paul Lewis performs all five of Beethoven's piano concertos over three concerts.

View All Performances
Paul Lewis sitting with his head resting in his left hand

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit