Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Ligeti 100: Thomas Adès conducts Ligeti, Liszt, Stravinsky,and Adès with Kirill Gerstein, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Thomas Adès, conductor
Kirill Gerstein, piano

LISZT Les Préludes
LIGETI Piano Concerto
Thomas ADÈS Tevot

The stormy and lyrical lushness of Hungarian Franz Liszt’s symphonic poem Les Préludes (1854) opens our program. English composer and conductor Thomas Adès and Russian-American pianist Kirill Gerstein celebrate the centennial of Hungarian composer György Ligeti with his kaleidoscopic Piano Concerto. Stravinsky’s ballet score Orpheus (1947) retells the classic myth in pure and elegant musical strokes. In closing, Adès shares what he calls his “single-movement symphony” Tevot, a journey of “sudden and instant changes of landscape.”

Saturday evening’s concert is supported by Theresa M. and Charles F. Stone III.

Saturday evening’s performance by Kirill Gerstein is supported by Ronald G. Casty and Susan Mendik.

The Friday Preview on November 17, at 12:15pm will be given by BSO Director of Program Publications Robert Kirzinger. Admission included with ticket.

Please allow additional arrival and entry time before your concert due to MBTA construction at the Symphony Green Line station. Parts of the sidewalk in front of Symphony Hall will be closed Mon-Fri 9:30am–3:30pm until further notice, however sidewalks will reopen two hours before BSO events

Performance Details

Nov 17, 2023, 1:30pm EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit