Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Herbert Blomstedt conducts Mozart and Bruckner featuring pianist Martin Helmchen

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

The prominent American-born Swedish conductor Herbert Blomstedt, a frequent and welcome guest of the BSO, is joined by German pianist Martin Helmchen for one of Mozart’s most joyous concertos, No. 17 in G. One of few Mozart piano concertos he probably didn’t write for himself to play, No. 17 may have been written for and premiered by his student Barbara Ployer in June 1784. Bruckner wrote his warm, majestic Fourth Symphony in 1874, but like many of his works the composer subjected it to extensive revision. The 1880 version of the score premiered by Hans Richter in Vienna in 1881 was one of the greatest success of Bruckner’s life.

Performance Details

Feb 17, 2022, 8:00pm EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit