Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Open Rehearsal: Sibelius, Nielsen, & Tarkiainen | Music of the Midnight Sun

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

John Storgårds, conductor
Pekka Kuusisto, violin

Outi TARKIAINEN Midnight Sun Variations
NIELSEN Violin Concerto
SIBELIUS The Oceanides and The Bard

The music and culture of Finland permeate Symphony Hall in this concert. Finnish conductor John Storgårds leads the first program in our Music of the Midnight Sun series, an exploration of Nordic storytelling and music. Finnish composer Outi Tarkiainen’s nuanced and colorful Midnight Sun Variations transport you to her homeland. Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto debuts with the BSO as the orchestra performs the great Danish composer Carl Nielsen’s 1911 Violin Concerto for the first time. The program closes with three of Jean Sibelius’s tone poems based on Finnish legends, their moods ranging from sweeping power to contemplative mystery.

Music of the Midnight Sun is supported, in part by the American Scandinavian Foundation.

The pre-rehearsal talk on February 29 will be given by Robert Kirzinger, Director of Program Publications. The talk will begin at 9:30am, and admission included with open rehearsal ticket.

John Storgårds conducting intensely.

Performance Details

Feb 29, 2024, 10:30am EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit