Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Lahav Shani conducts Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff, and Saint-Saëns with Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Israeli conductor Lahav Shani, making his Symphony Hall debut, and elegant French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet perform Camille Saint-Saëns’ Piano Concerto No. 5, Egyptian, a brilliantly virtuosic but tuneful Romantic-era work for which Thibaudet is an ideal interpreter. Sergei Prokofiev’s delightful First Symphony was conceived as a 20th-century successor to works by Wolfgang Mozart and Joseph Haydn. Sergei Rachmaninoff’s ingeniously constructed, brilliantly colorful Symphonic Dances was his last finished work.

Lahav Shani, conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano

PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1, Classical (15)

SAINT-SAËNS Piano Concerto No. 5, Egyptian (29)

---- Intermission----

RACHMANINOFF Symphonic Dances (33)

Jean-Yves Thibaudet lounging on an ornate couch

Performance Details

Feb 16, 2023, 10:30am EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit