Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Adés, Mozart, and Sibelius with Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin and Golda Schultz, soprano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Andris Nelsons leads superstar violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter in the American premiere of English composer Thomas Adès’ new Sibelius-inspired Air for violin and orchestra, a BSO co-commission written for Mutter. In her BSO debut, the young South African soprano Golda Schultz sings Jean Sibelius’ early Luonnotar, a dramatic tone poem with voice based on Finnish creation myth. Though his Fifth Symphony was an enormous success at its 1915 premiere, Sibelius extensively revised the original four-movement work, completing the final three-movement version in 1919.

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin
Golda Schultz, soprano

SIBELIUS Luonnotar

MOZART Violin Concerto No. 1

---- Intermission----

Thomas ADÈS Air, for violin and orchestra (American premiere; BSO co-commission)

SIBELIUS Symphony No. 5

Performance Details

Apr 21, 2023, 1:30pm EDT

Getting Here

Plan Your Visit