Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons and the TMC Conducting Fellows conduct Sibelius & Grieg with Sergio Tiempo, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Ross Jamie Collins and Na’Zir McFadden, Tanglewood Music Center Conducting Fellows
Sergio Tiempo, piano

SIBELIUS Finlandia
GRIEG Piano Concerto
GRIEG Holberg Suite
SIBELIUS Symphony No. 7

Andris Nelsons and our two summer 2024 Tanglewood Music Center Conducting Fellows share this concert of Norwegian and Finnish works. Argentine pianist Sergio Tiempo is soloist in the Norwegian Edvard Grieg’s fiery Piano Concerto, paired with the composer’s delightful Holberg Suite, based on Baroque dances. Jean Sibelius composed Finlandia pointedly to elevate Finnish national feeling, and it succeeded wonderfully, becoming one of his most popular works. His late single-movement Seventh Symphony is the ultimate expression of his personal musical language.

Performance Details

Nov 29, 2024, 1:30pm EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit