Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Beethoven, Bloch, and Simon with Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Exciting young English cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason makes his BSO debut in Ernest Bloch’s 1916 Schelomo ("King Solomon"), in which the expansively melodic cello role represents the voice of the king. Opening the concert is the premiere of a BSO-commissioned work by the talented Washington, D.C.-based composer Carlos Simon. Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 builds in excitement from its atmospheric introduction through its thrilling finale.

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello

Carlos SIMON Four Black American Dances (world premiere; commissioned by the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Andris Nelsons, Music Director, through the generous support of

the New Works Fund established by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency.)

BLOCH Schelomo: Rhapsodie hébraïque, for cello and orchestra

---- Intermission----

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7
  • The Dr. Lawrence H. Cohn Memorial Concert
  • Sponsored by Hemenway & Barnes LLP
Sheku Kanneh-Mason sitting next to his cello, wearing a teal blazer

Performance Details

Feb 9, 2023, 7:30pm EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit