Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Still, Strauss, and Bartók

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Andris Nelsons and the BSO continue their multi-season focus on music of Richard Strauss with his own Symphonic Fantasy on Die Frau ohne Schatten (“Woman Without a Shadow”), a 1946 orchestral distillation of his fabulist 1919 opera. The BSO hasn’t played music from the opera since the 1960s under Erich Leinsdorf. The concert opens with the great American composer William Grant Still’s Threnody: In Memoriam Jan Sibelius, composed in 1965. Though from very different traditions, Still and Sibelius were known to admire one another’s music. Closing this single-concert program is perhaps the BSO’s most famous commissioned work: Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra, music premiered by the BSO under Serge Koussevitzky’s direction in December 1944.

Performance Details

Oct 19, 2021, 8:00pm EDT

Symphony Hall

  • Keeping You Safe in Sound at Symphony Hall

    Please note that all visitors to Symphony Hall must present either proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test to enter, and CDC-approved masks are required while in the hall. A negative COVID-19 test must either be a PCR test taken within the last 72 hours or an antigen test taken within the last 24 hours. Be sure to read about all our new health and safety protocols before attending. We look forward to sharing this special celebration with you. Welcome back!

Getting Here

Plan Your Visit