Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Augusta Read Thomas, Beethoven, and Liszt featuring pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Music Director Andris Nelsons leads the BSO and a frequent collaborator, the French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet, in a passionate and virtuosic Piano Concerto No. 2 by Franz Liszt — who himself was considered the most brilliant performer of the 19th century Romantic era. These concerts open with the American premiere of Augusta Read Thomas' Dance Foldings, which Thomas describes as “like jazz big band with Stravinsky ballets.” Closing the program is Ludwig van Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony, one of the composer’s sunniest and most congenial works.

Pianist Mitsuko Uchida has unfortunately had to withdraw from these concerts due to a recent back injury. Her multi-year collaboration performing the Beethoven concertos with Andris Nelsons and the BSO will now begin in the 2022-2023 season. We are grateful that French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet, a frequent BSO collaborator, is available to perform in these concerts in her place.

Jean-Yves Thibaudet lounging on an ornate couch

Performance Details

Jan 13, 2022, 8:00pm EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit