Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Boston Pops Gospel Choir


The Boston Pops Gospel Choir, made up of volunteers from church choirs and other choruses in the greater Boston area, was originally brought together to participate in the first “Gospel Night at Pops,” which took place on Sunday, June 13, 1993. “Gospel Night” came about as a result of the vision and commitment of the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s Cultural Diversity Committee, and particularly because of the late Vondal M. Taylor, Jr. (1954-95), who was Vice-Chairman of the committee and a BSO Overseer. That first performance was led by guest conductor Isaiah Jackson, and Alvin Parris III prepared the choir. The following year Charles Floyd, perhaps best known for his work with Natalie Cole, led acclaimed Gospel Night performances, which featured his own arrangements, both at Symphony Hall and on the Esplanade. In the 2023 spring season, which marks the 29th annual Gospel Night at Pops, Mr. Floyd returns to lead the concert for the 27th time. In 1996 the Boston Pops Gospel Choir joined Patti LaBelle and Edwin Hawkins for a concert taped for the PBS series Evening at Pops.

Boston Pops Gospel Choir 2023 Roster

** indicates a soloist

Dennis Slaughter, Artistic Director
Norris Welch, Choir Manager

Sheila Azores
Tonia Barlow
Natacha Beaudry
Neni Carolina Chacin
Mernie Clifton
Victoria Dandridge **
Lennie De Souza
Christina E. DeVaughn **
Paula Elliott
Ida Kamrara **
Zaida Christine Lambe
Ayeesha Lane **
Laura Lapointe
Katie Leazott
Amina Michel-Lord
Ann Moritz
Nichelle J Mungo
Lakshmi Nayak
Sandra Nelson
Christine Rutledge
Charlotte Spinkston
Pamela St. Aimee
Julie Starr
Marie Toussaint
Denise Young

Joanne Arneman
Suzanne Buell **
Sheri Callender
Adrienne E. Campbell
Elizabeth (Betsy) Clifford
Jill Cowie
Jennifer Crowe
Marilyn Dalton
Camilla Davis
Cynthia Faulkner
Shannell Grant
Karen Green
Bella V. Harris
Val Harris-Alleyne
Angela Hedley-Mitchell
George-Marie Jasmin
JoAnne Loretti
Marie-Elle Merchant
Sharon Molden **
Monica Moore
Kimberly Oliver
Maia Raynor
Barbara Ryan
Sherylynn Sealy **
Elyse Seltzer
Cheryl Shea
Jacquinn Sinclair
Samara Tilkin
Beth Tortolani
Mildred Walker
Rozita Waltower
Patricia Wilkinson
Heather Williams
Angelica Wilshire
Vicki Zelski

Anthony Clayton
David Grandy **
Steven Hawkesworth
Michael Jones
Raymond Martin **
Michael Mecenas
Elly Pendergast
Dwight Porter
Donald Smith
Terry Spinkston-Brown
Josephine Watson

Mabray Andrews
Philip Clinton
David Joyner
Brian McGovern
Tim Smith
Bradley Turner
Wesley Vaughn

Mark Copeland, piano
Sam Joseph, bass
Dennis Montgomery, organ
Sean Skeete, drums

See More