Whether bustling with life at concert time, still and serene when the crowds empty out, or ringing with the rehearsals emanating from stages and studios, Tanglewood has an energy that vibrates with its music and its history.
There is plenty to explore.
Standing on the hill by the Visitors Center, one can take in an expansive view of Lake Mahkeenac, also known as the Stockbridge Bowl, set against the backdrop of the blue rise of Monument Mountain in the distance.
1,100 trees from over 30 different species populate the campus, flanking visitors as they move along the pathways, and providing shade as Sunday concert-goers picnic on the lawn — the gnarled roots of many exhibiting the eponymous tangled wood. 10,000 flowers are planted and maintained each summer.
A formal garden, located in the northwest corner of campus, includes a vine-wrapped trellis, an easily-navigable hedge maze, and the acoustic wonder of a whispering bench. There visitors can find their way to a bronze bust of composer Aaron Copland, commissioned from artist Penelope Jencks by John Williams to commemorate the very first Head of Faculty at the Tanglewood Music Center (TMC).
Wherever and whenever one is at Tanglewood, TMC Fellows can be found — in practice, rehearsal, performance, or in fleeting moments of relaxation, immersed in the natural beauty that forms such an important part of their Tanglewood experience.
The Story of Tanglewood
Tanglewood consists of what were at one time two private estates, the original main houses of which still stand on the grounds.
210-acre Tappan family estate was gifted to the Boston Symphony Orchestra in 1936 by
Mrs. Gorham Brooks and Miss Mary Aspinwall Tappan. The Koussevitzky
Music Shed was erected there in 1938. The Theatre-Concert Hall
and the Chamber Music Hall — designed by legendary architect Eero
Saarinen — were finished by 1941. Today the Tappan manor house serves as
the Visitors Center and an exhibition space for archival materials.
The 1986 addition of the adjacent Highwood estate expanded
Tanglewood's public grounds by 40%. It became the site of Seiji Ozawa Hall, which opened in 1994, and the center of operations for the Tanglewood Music Center,
including administrative offices in the Leon Fleisher Carriage House and
the Aaron Copland Library. The original Highwood house
serves as a venue for pre-concert dining and post-concert receptions.
In 2019, the state-of-the-art Linde Center for Music and Learning opened as the latest addition to the Tanglewood campus.