Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Beethoven, Mozart, Maskats, and Strauss with Rudolf Buchbinder, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Rudolf Buchbinder, piano

BEETHOVEN Consecration of the House Overture
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 23 in A, K.488
Arturs MASKATS Tango
STRAUSS Suite from Der Rosenkavalier

Ludwig van Beethoven’s masterful Consecration of the House Overture raises the curtain on our season. Soloist Rudolf Buchbinder joins music director Andris Nelsons for Wolfgang Mozart’s light and lyrical Piano Concerto No. 23; Latvian composer Arturs Maskats’ Tango, a rich orchestral tribute to the dance, follows. The program closes with the theme from Richard Strauss’s 1911 opera Der Rosenkavalier, another lilting waltz that lovingly evokes the grace and elegance of Mozart’s years in Vienna.

  • The Fanny Peabody Mason Memorial Concert
Andris Nelsons conducting with one hand outstretched

Performance Details

Oct 5, 2023, 7:30pm EDT

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit