Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Joana Mallwitz conducts Kodály, Tchaikovsky, and Schubert with Anna Vinnitskaya, piano

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Joana Mallwitz, conductor
Anna Vinnitskaya, piano

KODÁLY Dances of Galánta
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1
SCHUBERT Symphony in C, The Great

German conductor Joana Mallwitz and Russian pianist Anna Vinnitskaya, both in their BSO debuts, perform Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s beloved and epic Piano Concerto No. 1, which originally premiered in Boston. The orchestra opens with the lively Dances of Galánta (1933) by Hungarian composer Zoltán Kodály, which combines traditional folk melodies from the composer’s home region with a symphonic context. In closing, Schubert’s towering Symphony in C, The Great, written near the end of his life and premiered a decade after his death by none other than Felix Mendelssohn.

Thursday evening’s concert is supported by Brooks and Linda Zug.

Thursday evening's performance by Anna Vinnitskaya is supported by The Helen and Josef Zimbler Fund.

Friday afternoon’s concert is in memory of William Pounds, supported by the Pounds Family.

The Friday Preview on November 3 at 12:15pm will be given by Marc Mandel, former BSO Director of Program Publications. Admission included with ticket.

Please allow additional arrival and entry time before your concert due to MBTA construction at the Symphony Green Line station. Parts of the sidewalk in front of Symphony Hall will be closed Mon-Fri 9:30am–3:30pm until further notice, however sidewalks will reopen two hours before BSO events

Performance Details

Nov 4, 2023, 8:00pm EDT

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit