Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Open Rehearsal: Seong-Jin Cho & The Rite of Spring

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Seong-Jin Cho, piano

Tania LEÓN Stride
RAVEL Piano Concerto for the left hand
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Tania León’s Pulitzer Prize-winning piece Stride draws on her Cuban heritage and her long association with dance to create music rich with rhythmic vitality and scintillating instrumental colors. Superstar Korean pianist Seong-Jin Cho plays Maurice Ravel’s dramatic Piano Concerto for the left hand, originally composed for pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who lost his arm during World War I. Closing the concert is and one of the most influential pieces in history: Igor Stravinsky’s ballet score The Rite of Spring, a work of primal power.

Robert Kirzinger, BSO Director of Program Publications, will give a pre-rehearsal talk on January 11 at 9:30am. Admission included with ticket.

This week’s performances of Tania León Stride are supported in part by income from the Morton Margolis fund in the BSO’s endowment.

Seong Jin Cho sitting in front of a piano

Performance Details

Jan 11, 2024, 10:30am EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit