2021-22 BSO Season Overview

Boston Symphony Orchestra 2021-2022 Season

Boston Symphony Orchestra is thrilled to announce programs for the 2021-22 Season, September 30-April 30, and the reopening of Symphony Hall for concertgoers.

The Boston Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Andris Nelsons present a 2021-22 Symphony Hall season, September 30-April 30, that will first and foremost celebrate reuniting with their music community post-pandemic, while also continuing the orchestra’s commitment to welcoming new audiences to experience the singular gifts the BSO and Mr. Nelsons are so eager to share with devoted listeners in Boston and throughout the world. This commitment to returning to performances with audiences is matched by an equally strong commitment to the health and safety of everyone associated with the BSO, including patrons, staff, and musicians.

In celebration of the reopening of Symphony Hall, the BSO will present a free community concert, under the direction of Andris Nelsons, Keith Lockhart, Thomas Wilkins, and John Williams, on October 3.

Press Release (PDF)



Boston Symphony Orchestra, 2021-22 Season Programs

Thursday, September 30, 8pm
Saturday, October 2, 8pm
Andris Nelsons and John Williams, conductors
Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin

BEETHOVEN Overture, The Consecration of the House
John WILLIAMS Violin Concerto No. 2
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra
______________________

Thursday, October 7, 8pm 
Friday, October 8, 1:30pm
Saturday, October 9, 8pm 
Tuesday, October 12, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Lucas and Arthur Jussen, pianos
STRAUSS ‘Love Scene’ from Feuersnot 
STRAUSS Death and Transfiguration 
MOZART Concerto in E-flat for two pianos, K.365
______________________

Thursday, October 14, 8pm
Friday, October 15, 1:30pm 
Saturday, October 16, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor
Lisa Batiashvili, violin
 
STILL Threnody: In Memory of Jan Sibelius
STRAUSS Symphonic Fantasy on Die Frau ohne Schatten
SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
______________________

Tuesday, October 19, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor
STILL Threnody: In Memory of Jan Sibelius
STRAUSS Symphonic Fantasy on Die Frau ohne Schatten
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra
______________________

Thursday, October 21, 8pm 
Friday, October 22, 1:30pm 
Saturday, October 23, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Sofia GUBAIDULINA The Light of the End 
RACHMANINOFF Symphony No. 3 
______________________

Thursday, October 28, 10:30am (high school open rehearsal) 
Thursday, October 28, 8pm 
Friday, October 29, 8pm (Casual Friday) 
Saturday, October 30, 8pm 
Sunday, October 31, 3pm 
Thomas Wilkins, conductor 
Victor Wooten, electric bass*
 
COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Suite from the ballet Hiawatha 
Victor WOOTEN La Lección Tres, for electric bass and orchestra 
ELLINGTON Suite from The River 
______________________

Thursday, November 4, 8pm 
Friday, November 5, 1:30pm 
Saturday, November 6, 8pm 
Dima Slobodeniouk, conductor 
Beatrice Rana, piano*
 
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1 
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 7 
______________________

Thursday, November 11, 10:30am (open rehearsal) 
Thursday, November 11, 8pm 
Friday, November 12, 1:30pm 
Saturday, November 13, 8pm 
Ton Koopman, conductor 
William R. Hudgins, clarinet
 
MOZART Clarinet Concerto 
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 2 
______________________

Thursday, November 18, 8pm 
Friday, November 19, 1:30pm 
Saturday, November 20, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Håkan Hardenberger, trumpet
 
Jörg WIDMANN Towards Paradise (Labyrinth VI), for trumpet and orchestra (American premiere; BSO co-commission) 
MAHLER Symphony No. 1 
______________________

Tuesday, November 23, 8pm 
Friday, November 26, 1:30pm 
Saturday, November 27, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
ALL-BRAHMS PROGRAM 
   Serenade No. 2 
   Symphony No. 1 
______________________

Thursday, January 6, 8pm 
Friday, January 7, 1:30pm 
Saturday, January 8, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Hilary Hahn, violin
 
HK GRUBER Short Stories from the Vienna Woods  (world premiere; BSO co-commission) 
MOZART Violin Concerto No. 5 
PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 5 
______________________

Thursday, January 13, 8pm 
Friday, January 14, 1:30pm 
Saturday, January 15, 8pm 
Sunday, January 16, 3pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Mitsuko Uchida, piano
 
Julia ADOLPHE Makeshift Castle (world premiere; BSO co-commission) 
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 2 
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 4 
______________________

Thursday, January 20, 10:30am (open rehearsal) 
Thursday, January 20, 8pm 
Friday, January 21, 1:30pm 
Saturday, January 22, 8pm 
Elim Chan, conductor* 
Igor Levit, piano^
 
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 2 
Brian Raphael NABORS Pulse
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 2, Little Russian 
______________________

Thursday, January 27, 8pm 
Friday, January 28, 1:30pm 
Saturday, January 29, 8pm 
Thomas Adès, conductor 
Kirill Gerstein, piano
 
BERG Three Pieces for Orchestra 
RAVEL Piano Concerto in D for the left hand 
Thomas ADÈS Concerto for Piano and Orchestra 
RAVEL La Valse 

______________________

Thursday, February 3, 8pm 
Friday, February 4, 1:30pm 
Saturday, February 5, 8pm 
Jakub Hrůša, conductor 
Kateřina Kněžíková, soprano* 
Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano 
Brandon Jovanovich, tenor^ 
Adam Plachetka, bass* 
Paul Jacobs, organ*
 
Tanglewood Festival Chorus, James Burton, conductor 
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 6 
JANÁČEK Glagolitic Mass 
______________________

Thursday, February 10, 10:30am (high school open rehearsal) 
Thursday, February 10, 8pm 
Friday, February 11, 1:30pm 
Saturday, February 12, 8pm 
Sunday, February 13, 3pm 
Philippe Jordan, conductor* 
Yefim Bronfman, piano
 
BORODIN Overture to Prince Igor 
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 3 
PROKOFIEV Suite from Romeo and Juliet 
______________________

Thursday, February 17, 8pm 
Friday, February 18, 1:30pm 
Saturday, February 19, 8pm 
Herbert Blomstedt, conductor 
Martin Helmchen, piano
 
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 17 in G, K.453 
BRUCKNER Symphony No. 4, Romantic 
______________________

Thursday, February 24, 8pm 
Friday, February 25, 8pm (Casual Friday) 
Saturday, February 26, 8pm 
Tuesday, March 1, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Baiba Skride, violin 
Anu Komsi, soprano*
 
Arvo PÄRT Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten 
SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No. 1 
Kaija SAARIAHO Saarikoski Songs (world premiere of orchestral version; BSO co-commission) [February 24, 26, March 1] 
STRAVINSKY Suite from The Firebird (1919 version) 
______________________

Thursday, March 3, 10:30am (open rehearsal) 
Thursday, March 3, 8pm 
Friday, March 4, 1:30pm 
Saturday, March 5, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Leonidas Kavakos, violin
 
IVES The Unanswered Question 
Unsuk CHIN Violin Concerto No. 2, Scherben der Stille (Shards of Silence) (American premiere; BSO co-commission) 
BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique 
______________________

Thursday, March 10, 8pm 
Saturday, March 12, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Cast to include: 
  Bo Skovhus, baritone (Wozzeck) ^ 
  Christine Goerke, soprano (Marie) 
  Sasha Cooke, mezzo-soprano (Margret) 
  Christopher Ventris, tenor (Drum Major) ^ 
  Mauro Peter, tenor (Andres) * 
  Franz Hawlata, bass (Doctor)
 
BERG Wozzeck 
Concert performance, sung in German with English supertitles 
______________________ 

Friday, March 11, 8pm (Casual Friday) 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
IVES The Unanswered Question 
BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique 
______________________

Thursday, March 31, 8pm 
Friday, April 1, 1:30pm 
Saturday, April 2, 8pm 
Sir Antonio Pappano, conductor 
Albina Shagimuratova, soprano 
Ian Bostridge, tenor 
Matthias Goerne, baritone 
Tanglewood Festival Chorus and Boston Symphony Children’s Choir, James Burton, conductor
 
BRITTEN War Requiem 
______________________ 

Thursday, April 7, 10:30am (high school open rehearsal) 
Thursday, April 7, 8pm 
Friday, April 8, 1:30pm 
Saturday, April 9, 8pm 
Anna Rakitina, conductor^ 
Alexandre Kantorow, piano*
 
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 2 
Ellen REID When the World as You’ve Known It Doesn’t Exist 
SIBELIUS Symphony No. 7 
______________________ 

Thursday, April 14, 10:30am (open rehearsal) 
Thursday, April 14, 8pm 
Friday, April 15, 1:30pm 
Saturday, April 16, 8pm 
Alan Gilbert, conductor 
Joshua Bell, violin
 
Bernard RANDS Symphonic Fantasy  (American premiere; BSO co-commission) 
DEBUSSY La Mer 
BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto 
______________________ 

Thursday, April 21, 8pm 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Lise Davidsen, soprano*

ALL-STRAUSS PROGRAM 
  Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks 
  Four Last Songs 
  Symphonia domestica
______________________ 

Friday, April 22, 8pm (Casual Friday) 
Saturday, April 23, 8pm 
Tuesday, April 26, 8pm
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
ALL-STRAUSS PROGRAM
  Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks (April 23, 26) 
  Symphonic Fantasy on Die Frau ohne Schatten
  Symphonia domestica

______________________

Thursday, April 28 
Friday, April 29 
Saturday, April 30 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Marlis Petersen, soprano
 
ALL-STRAUSS PROGRAM 
  ‘Dance of the Seven Veils’ and Final Scene from Salome
  An Alpine Symphony


* BSO debut
^BSO subscription debut


Boston Symphony Chamber Players, 2021-22 Season Programs (Jordan Hall)

Sunday, November 7, 2021, 3pm
Jennifer HIGDON Autumn Music, for wind quintet 
Marti EPSTEIN Komorebi, for oboe, clarinet, and violin 
Shulamit RAN Lyre of Orpheus, for string sextet 
FARRENC Nonet for winds and strings 
______________________

Sunday, January 23, 2022, 3pm 
with 
 Alessio Bax, piano 
Sophia Burgos, soprano
 John Brancy, baritone

BARTÓK Contrasts, for clarinet, violin, and piano 
Michael GANDOLFI Cantata, for soprano, baritone, and ensemble (world premiere; BSO commission) 
DVOŘÁK String Quintet in G, Op. 77
______________________

Sunday, February 20, 2022, 3pm
with 
 Inon Barnatan, piano
GLINKA Trio pathétique in D minor for clarinet, bassoon, and piano 
Sofia GUBAIDULINA Sonata for double bass and piano 
Elena LANGER Reflections on Water, for ensemble
SHOSTAKOVICH Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 57
______________________

Sunday, April 10, 2022, 3pm
HINDEMITH Octet for winds and strings
Yehudi WYNER Concord 7, for flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, and piano
MOZART String Quintet in D, K.593


Youth and Family Presentations

The Education and Community Engagement Department is pleased to offer Youth and Family Concerts as part of the 2021-22 BSO Season. Led by Thomas Wilkins, the BSO will perform a program entitled So Now What: A Musical Look at Anticipation, Expectation, and a New Certainty Toward the Fulfillment of Our Promise for school communities as part of our Youth Concert week in early May. The program will be reprised for two Family Concerts, one of which will be a Sensory Friendly performance.

In addition to our BSO Family Concert, the Boston Youth Symphony Orchestras will be featured in two programs: Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf with conductor Adrian Slywotsky, and a program of music and magic led by conductor Marta Żurad and featuring magician Matt Roberts.